Victims of sexual abuse often feel completely powerless after having their physical and emotional well-being reduced by the unforgivable actions of another party. Our lawyers know how difficult it is to come forward and pursue a case against another individual, and we are here to help. A sexual abuse lawyer at Flickinger Sutterfield & Boulton can fight for your rights and help hold those who hurt you accountable for their actions. Our legal team understands the importance of having compassionate, personalized attention on your side during this difficult time. Unlike other firms, we do not hand off our cases to our staff or associates. We can meet the needs of clients throughout the state of Utah. To schedule a complimentary review of your case, call our office at (801) 341-8424 or contact us online.
Why Act Now?
Many victims of sexual abuse do not act against their perpetrators because they do not feel that the legal system is on their side. The state of Utah has recently revised the statute of limitations for sexual abuse cases from four years to 35 years after your 18th birthday. This means that victims have more time to bring their case forward and hold their perpetrators accountable.
Although the statute of limitations has recently expanded to give sexual abuse victims more time to bring their cases forward, time is of the essence.
Although no amount of compensation will help to completely heal the physical and emotional wounds that were inflicted by your abuser, we can help you obtain the justice you deserve. This can help facilitate the healing process and allow you to return to your normal life as quickly as possible.
What Defines Sexual Abuse?
In the state of Utah, there are two classifications of sexual abuse: forcible sexual abuse and sexual abuse of a child, in which the victim is under 18 years of age. There are other factors that will determine the severity of the penalty filed against your abuser, including:
- Age of the Victim and Perpetrator: The wider the age gap between the victim and defendant, the more severe the consequences may be. If you are or were a minor when the abuse occurred, this will also increase the severity of the case.
- Degree of Violence: Physical violence and aggravated assault are very serious factors to consider. If there was bodily injury involved, there may be grounds for a first-degree felony charge.
These criteria and other characteristics of the crime will determine the jail time and penalties that your perpetrator can receive. However, it is important to remember that no case is too great or too small to fight for, and any form of unwanted sexual contact is considered abuse.
The Benefits of Hiring a Lawyer
While your first priority should be receiving medical attention if you were sexually abused, your next step should be to contact our law firm. Our attorneys can help you navigate the complex legal process, compile evidence that supports your case, and achieve a satisfactory outcome. In addition to holding the defendant legally accountable for his or her actions, our team will strive to secure compensation for physical and emotional damages caused by their acts. We can provide the level of attention, information, and support you need to feel cared for and informed throughout the legal process.
Take Action Today
Although the statute of limitations has recently expanded to give sexual abuse victims more time to bring their cases forward, time is of the essence. Many victims delay action because they feel their claims are unsupported or do not feel like their degree of sexual abuse qualifies for a lawsuit. Our legal team can listen to your story during a complimentary, no-obligation consultation and help you determine your next steps. Schedule a review today by calling (801) 341-8424 or using our online contact form.